Cookies help website users perform certain functions. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the website.

If you wish, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Tel: (061) 351695 Fax: (061) 351940 Email:

27 July 2016
History of St Ailbes Credit Union

Our History


In the late 1970ís Interest rates had reached an all time high, making it impossible for the working person to borrow money. As a result of this economic situation, in January 1980 a study group was set up in Caherconlish to examine the feasibility of setting up a Credit Union in the area. This groupís first meeting took place in the balcony of the Parish Church. This idea was the brainchild of the late Brendan Crehan, R.I.P of Ballybricken.

The study group was made up of the following committed people:

Brendan Crehan R.I.P (Ballybricken)
Patrick Vaughan    (Caherconlish)
Margaret Ryan    (Caherconlish)
Mary Kiely    (Caherconlish)
Nellie Mc Namara   (Caherconlish)
Paddy Long   (Herbertstown)
Mary Long (Herbertstown)
Seamus Hayes (Ballybricken)
Denis Wallace (Herbertstown)
Johnny O Connell  (Caherline)
Joe Riordan R.I.P    (Fedamore)
Tom Ryan  (Caherconlish)
Pat Baggott R.I.P (Herbertstown)

This group needed help and advice on their undertaking and the study group was greatly assisted by

Matt Heffernan, field Officer of the Irish League of Credit Unions who instructed the group over a twenty five week period

In December 1980 the Credit Union was formally inaugurated. Its common bond are the parishes of Caherconlish, Caherline, Murroe, Boher, Ballybricken, Fedamore, Knockea, Bohermore, Dromkeen, Kilteely, Herbertstown, Hospital, Cappamore, Nicker, Templebraden and Doon.

The name of St Ailbe's Credit Union was adopted as St Ailbe is the patron Saint of the Diocese of Cashel and Emly.


Find Us here:
Facebook Twitter
St. Ailbes Credit Union Tel: (061) 351695 Fax: (061) 351940 Email: Web:
Regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland Reg. No.: 390CU